Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Teddy Bear Academy - Online teddy bear making classes
Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca

Jodi Moisan Storytime Bears

Shill bidding on ebay is a hot button issue, now that ebay has put in place the new hidden bidder feature on all of their auctions, and I think as an artist I find shill bidding to be damaging to our whole business, when collectors see it happening, it makes them leary of other well deserved high priced bears, even if the artists work is clearly wonderful.  I am not talking about someone who has done it once or twice, maybe they just don't know it's wrong, I am talking about the people who do it over and over. 

What's your feeling on this topic?

Stitch SanguineCreations
Wales

What is shill bidding?

nimbleknot Cupcake Bears
Austin, Texas
Website

I don't know what it is either. Tell us!

according to ebay here is what shill bidding is:

"Shill Bidding is bidding that artificially increases an item’s price or apparent desirability, or bidding by individuals with a level of access to the seller’s item information not available to the general Community. Shill Bidding is prohibited on eBay.

Because family members, roommates and employees of sellers have a level of access to item information which is not available to the general Community, they are not permitted to bid on items offered by the seller – even if their sole intent is to purchase the item. Family members, roommates or employees may purchase items from a seller without violating this policy simply by using purchase options – such as Buy It Now – which do not involve bidding."