Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca
Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb

sewing stars sewing stars
providence, rhode island

okay, this may sound like a dumb question, so please forgive me, but i am still learning.... bear_flower

when it comes to measuring the size of bears, i assumed it was the total length of the bear, from head to feet, but i saw a couple listed that actually measured them seated, so it was from head to bottom. is there is a standard way to measure? just curious, and i do apologize for asking what seems like a really silly question...

Tammy Beckoning Bears
Nova Scotia
Website

I measure the same way too.  Head to toe, excluding ears, them head to bottom when seated.  I know if the bear has bent legs then you have to account to for the bend.  So measure foot to bend(knee) then knee to top of leg. Then from top of leg to head.   Does that makse any sense  bear_wacko

Marlys Waggle Bears
So Cal Desert

I also measure the full length but also take a "sitting"" measure. But that's really a good question because I've never had anyone tell me exactly how to do it.

burlisonbears Burlison Bears
Louisville, Kentucky

Wow. I've never done a sitting measure before. I measure from toe to head and never include the ears in the measuring.

-Eliza

sewing stars sewing stars
providence, rhode island

thanks for all the imput! i am glad i asked, because i had been measuring minus the ears, and wasn't sure if that was right for not either. glad to know my instincts were correct!  bear_smile

toadbriar ToadBriar
western massachusetts

if it's a (non lop) bunny I include the height of the ears  bear_grin If someone
has a tallish hat I will do a measure with and without, too.

if it is a bear who will readily stand on his own I just do head to bottom of foot.
otherwise I show a standing AND a seated measure.

cherylbruinwerks Bruinwerks
Edmonton