Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Shelli Makes - Teddy bears & other cheerful things by Shelli Quinn
No Monkey Biz - Domain name registration, hosting

Olgavd Posts: 6

Hi,

Sorry for asking about this, I'm just a newbie.

All the time I see people use mostly cotter pin joints on their artist teddies.

However, don't you think metal is a bit "unfriendly"? Isn't it better to use plastic joints? Why do so few people use plastic? Do such joints stand the tests of time worse than cotter pins?

Does anyone use plastic joints on high-end collectible artist teddies? 

Also, does using plastic joints instead of cotter pins it lower the teddies' value or anything?

Thanks!!!

Tami E Tami Eveslage Original Teddy Bears
Milford Ohio

hello! Weclome to Teddy Talk. bear_flower 
Plastic joints can break. One of my early bears was given to the son of a friend of mine when he was born. When he turned 7 poor Teddy's head popped off!!  bear_shocked The tearful child returned him to me for surgery and I was surprised to see that I had used a plastic joint in his head since it had been so long since I had used them.
You are also limited as to how tight you can make them. There are limits to how tight you can get cotter pin joints too though which is why I use lock nuts and bolts in my bears limbs (cotter pin joints in the head). I enjoy making larger bears and the cotter pin or plastic joints just aren't tight enough to hold a pose with the larger bears, especially if they are weighted at all.

Thanks, but I heard you can't give children bears with metal jounts anyway, so you were right to give plastic, even if it broke bear_original They are called plastic safety joints anyway.