Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Shelli Makes - Teddy bears & other cheerful things by Shelli Quinn
No Monkey Biz - Domain name registration, hosting

mingrul Our Blue Iguana

Im just wondering if today I ask my friend to take photos of my bears and I did not pay her to take photos, will she still got much the right to declare this her own work? After all, she is the one who brain storm on the story or look. Does she have the right to put her works on magazines? Of course giving credit that the bears are mine that is...

just wondering how the photos right work....

thanks
:hug:

Laura Lynn Teddy Bear Academy
Nicholasville, KY
Website

Laura Lynn Banner Sponsor

As a former photographer I can say ..... Yes, the photograph itself is her work regardless of whether or not she got paid for it.  bear_thumb

jenny Three O'clock Bears
warwickshire uk
Website

Yes Laura Lynn is right....the photographer is the owner and as such has rights on the pictures. She can't claim ownership of the content however ..but even if you paid her she still owns the copyright. She can publish them if she wishes.

mingrul Our Blue Iguana

I thought so.. thanks for clearing it up because I really dont mind if she submit it on the magazine.. but she felt that its not her bears so might not be allowed...

thanks ladies :hug:

rkr4cds Creative Design Studio (RKR4CDS)
suburban Chicago

Yes, she owns the Copyright, but the Good News is that she can assign the rights to you, by contract, whether it's Gratis (no money changes hands) or you pay her for the Copyright (whatever is satisfactory between the two of you) and then you will own the rights to do whatever you'd like to with the images.

http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ1.html#toc
Transfer of Copyright