Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca
Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb

Lhearn Critters Creations
Alberta
Website

Do you think the more the bear is age the better the look for the vintage style. I am new at making the vintage style bear. What is your thought on this.  bear_original

rowarrior The Littlest Thistle
Glasgow

Well i've only made a couple, and I have someone wanting to do a swap with me that wants more aging, apparently they weren't distressed enough  bear_laugh

Alberta
Website

I guess in this case the more distressed the better.   bear_noexpression

desertmountainbear desertmountainbear
Bloomsburg, PA

Do you have an old bear at home?  How does it look.  Copy what you like.  The Encyclopedia of Teddy Bears or any book like that is another place to get an idea of how much aging you like.  I really think it is a matter of preference.  I like them to look like they came out of an attic, not out of the trash can. 

Joanne

Alberta
Website

I will see what I can find. I don't think I have May right yet. I keep looking at her and something seems to be missing for me.  Thanks Joanne

dangerbears Dangerbears
Wisconsin
Website

It looks as if you chose a long-pile mohair for May. Since the vintage-look bear is usually a bit bald, I think the long fur might make it more difficult to achieve the illusion. Maybe something shorter?

Becky

Bloomsburg, PA

Are you a member of The Guild of Master Bear Crafters?  There was a very good long discussion by some very good distressers on how to do this.

edie Bears by Edie
Southern Alberta