Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Teddy Bear Academy - Online teddy bear making classes
Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca

flowerfie The Avalon Rose
Toronto

Hey all, I could do with some advice on funding my bear making. Basically, my financial situation at present will not allow me to buy supplies, even thrift store finds, and I was wondering if it would be worth trying to sell my creations to feed the fabric beast. I'm very new to bear making, so I would just want to cover the costs of fabric with my sales, does anyone think this is even possible for a capable, but inexperienced maker?

Also, is selling bears at cost frowned upon? I don't want to ruffle any feathers, I just really love to make things!

dangerbears Dangerbears
Wisconsin
Website

You can price your bears in any way that works for you, but be sure to include ALL of your costs. For example, if you sell on Bearpile, there's a monthly fee, while ebay and etsy charge a percentage of any sales. Also consider the cost of tags and packaging materials (bags, boxes, packing tape, tissue paper).

Good luck with your new venture!

Becky

Toronto

Thanks, I'll be sure to calculate things properly, and reign in my passion for super fancy expensive packaging... Do you think there is even a market for less experienced makers? I mean I'm more than capable with needle and thread but I can't hold a candle to some of the pure awesome that many artists around here possess.

Francesca KALEideaSCOPE
Rheinfelden
Website

I think Becky gave you very sound suggestions.
As for the 'experienced' or 'inexperienced' side of things, I think you shouldn't worry too much about it. Just give it a try, and see. There could very well be somebody who likes your little ones and want to buy them, and if they like them, who cares if you are experienced or not?  bear_original