Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca
Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb

lapousmor Sophie Z'Ours
Sarthe, France

I wonder how I happened to get such an idea!

I guess I felt sad for that poor old bear in need for serious surgery and repairs...
I know i am a doctor but not even Doctor in medicine and not Doctor for teddy bears...

but now here I am: I said my friend Fabienne that i wanted to restore her old ted: the poor thing is about 50 years old. I will meet Fabienne's mum tomorrow so i will try to know more about the story of that bear and by chance she will tel me she has somewhere pics of the bear when young and healthy... Finger crossed.

As I was told some of you are used to restore bears, I would appreciate to be given any advice or idea that would cross your mind about the best way to restore him.

I already know that I will need to have a long chat with Fabienne to know what she wants to be done or not done: like changing or not the eyes, etc.

This is a mohair bear in two tones of mohair; a main one sort of brown and another one for the muzzle, inner ears and pads: sort of white-beige.

He has glass eyes, is fully jointed with cotter pin joints (I could see the joint of one ohf his legs as there is an opening in one of the legs near the joint), is filled with kapok.

He must have been much love due to the way the mohair pile has disappeared in so many places.
It looks like some repairs have already been done, probably by Fabienne or her mom.

I think he used to have a plastic nose.
he has something in his tummy: I think some kind of growler: you had to press somewhere in particular on the tummy to get some sound. It does not work anymore.

I have no idea about who made this bear (at least not yet).

Here are a few pics. If some of you want the pics in full size to help me, please e-mail me and i will send them to you.

teddy12xp.jpg