Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca
Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb

TeddyTyke Posts: 65

bear_grin

I swear this current bear I'm making is cursed...  I'm a beginner and I get something 'new' wrong on each bear I make... When I've figured out a problem, lo and behold - a new one crops up! Fine! I can cope with it!

But this bear...  I've had to do several things over. Worst of all, today I realised I had an air pocket in the nose stuffing, once the thing was finally together and I'd started stitching the nose... This was the first time I experimented with excelsior, just for the head. Apparently it makes it firmer than polystuffing, so easier to embroider the nose. Hmm. Well, it looked firm enough to me... But it wasn't, apparently.  So, I had to find the ladder stitching in his back (no mean feat now I've perfected that one!); unpick it; behead him; re-stuff the head; rejoint the head; re-stuff the body; sew up the body; re-sew the nose.... Oh and in the process had to pull out his eyes, so I could unstuff the head properly....

It's about the third thing I've had to totally re-do. Blimey.  Starting to feel the bear is cursed.

Now, he's eye-less, has half a nose, and no mouth yet.

Wonder what he's going to do to me next!

Thing is, he's a beautiful bear, one of the nicest I've made yet. I just keep wondering if every time I look at him I'll remember the way he didn't seem to want to be made! bear_tongue

Anyone else ever made a cursed bear?

Dilu Posts: 8,574

DSC01163-2.JPGDSC01160-2.JPG

Oh Penny. have we ever made a cursed bear.....I wish i could show you pigmonkeybear.....he was , hmmmm

but here is another dreadful mistake:

sarahjane Brisbane

Often our best bears are the ones that give us the most trouble....keep at it, it will be a beautiful bear!!!

Dilu that rabbit has a charm all of its own!!  bear_grin

Delartful Bears Delartful Bears