Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb
Shelli Makes - Teddy bears & other cheerful things by Shelli Quinn

mumka Posts: 80
Website

I don't know if I'm doing right making a topic for this and if it's in a right place... If I should go somewhere else please tell me ^^'

I finally had time to make a bear with my fresh new fabric:) Here is a tiny one made with fabric from Matilda (pleaaase, could you tell me what's this? I'm fresh in this stuff  :redface: ). His name is Bruce and he's only 4.5cm / 1.7". It was really hard job to make such tiny limbs! But I like how it came out, hope you like it bear_original

Bruce1.jpg
Bruce2.jpg
Bruce3.jpg
now I can see... the nose and eyes are no symetric, something's wrong with paws, dang. I'm just learning X)
oh, and what should I do to hide stiches and knots? (hopelessly seen on the back of the bear ;P )
larger photos are here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/7707125@N06/

next bear is in his way now, made with stuff from another part of the world ;)

now I can see... the nose and eyes are no symetric, something's wrong with paws, dang. I'm just learning X)
oh, and what should I do to hide stiches and knots? (hopelessly seen on the back of the bear ;P )

Carolyn Green Draffin Bears
Auckland New Zealand
Website

Bruce is a lovely little bear with a great smile on his face.

Hugs
Carolyn
bear_flower

matilda Matilda Huggington-beare
WA

Hi Anna, cute bear. Certainly is tiny. This type of topic ususally goes into the TIPS AND TECHNIQUES area.
I will answer you here this time no problems.
The fabric is a velvet. Bear suppliers sell it in their mini bear section.
As for stitches, you need the finest needle you can get your hands on. I use a 10-12 sharp. The 12 sharp is a bugger to thread though. And with the tiny needle you need strong but fine thread.