Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca
Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb

DebbieD Posts: 3,540

Okay, if you're a farmer, this won't matter one bit, but I adore my hens.  I've raised them from day old chicks, even driving the five hour journey to get them.  And you wouldn't believe how incredibly spoilt they were.....air conditioning, heater in the winter, etc etc.  And we won't even mention the food  bear_rolleyes

But yesterday I noticed one of my girls, Broody Broomhilde, was 'off colour' yesterday.  I suspected egg bound, as she very rarely lays an egg, and when she does its tiny.  Okay, if I was a farmer, she would have been culled long, long time ago as she just wasn't a producer.  But she loved to brood the eggs as each one was laid, and the little weeble wobble toy I left in there for them.  I mean, she'd talk to the weeble wobble toy, just like a hen does to her chicks in the eggs  bear_wub

Since a couple more hens started laying funny and on their sides yesterday, I thought maybe it was just the unusual heat that was making them act that way.   bear_cry   This morning, I had three hens meet me at the door, but Broom was in a corner, legs straight out.  I thought she'd all ready died, and steeled myself to just get in there and get her buried....and then she moved.  I've just spent at least three or four hours trying to coax her with honey (which did change her comb colour), and getting some water down her.  But there was just something 'wrong'.  I couldn't see or feel an egg for the egg binding problem, but .....well a mommy just 'knows' doesn't she?   bear_cry