Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Teddy Bear Academy - Online teddy bear making classes
Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca

Nita411 Posts: 13

I'm new at soft sculpture and would love to know if anyone can give me any ideas on how to add extra long hair to the face of certain breeds of cats and dogs.  The longest mohair I can find is 3" long and I see dogs/cats done by others that have hair that is much longer.  One artist told me she used the 3" but added longer hair around the face by her own technique(not needlefelting).

Any ideas?

Thanks!
Jayne Sabino

momanimallover Taber, Alberta

I take it she didn't tell you her secret technique? bear_grin I would love to know this too! I thought of maybe looking for the longest synthetic fur you can find or mohair and then trimming off the shortest areas and leaving the longer parts bear_ermm

Little Bear Guy Little Bear Guy
Waterloo, Ontario

Well I know some artist actually use real hair, have no idea how they attach it though.  I know it's not needle felted on, I guess it will remain a mystery and we just aren't meant to know  :crackup:  :crackup:   trade secrets and all you know.

big hugs

Shane

kezjoy KezjoyKritterz
Gippsland Victoria

you could zigzag the hair..umm..not sure how to explain it..have a long piece of fur or whatever youre using, then stitch it in a zigzag coming out at each point of the Z just a little bit to anchor it..would take a long time to do a whole face..its a technique used for whiskers..just a thought!! I haven't tried it myself for a face..but I have used it for whiskers and it holds well. oo I just thought of another way..you could pull it through the existing fabric before stitching it all up..you'd need a small crocheting hook or similar..not sure how you'd anchor it though...maybe glue?? dunno..anyone else got any ideas??
Kerrilyn

Sheryl Tuckerbears
Colorado Springs, CO