Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Teddy Bear Academy - Online teddy bear making classes
Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca

Michelle Helen Chaska, Minnesota

I just saw a wonderful bear that had needle felted eyelids. Does anybody know how to do this? Do you put the eye in first or do you do the eyelids first? I took one needle felting class from our Bobby Ripperger a few years ago, so I have the needles, but I never needle felted anything else (sorry Bobby, I’m a bad student who did not practice!!). But overall, can somebody give me an idea of how to do this technique in steps?

Nancy D Dog Patch Critters
Titusville, FL
Website

Lisa of qd Patooties has a nice tutorial on the other forum for needlefelted eyelids
Here is the link http://www.eii2.com/Community/viewtopic … ht=eyelids

Donna Donna's Duin Bruins
Burbank, CA

Hi,
The eyelids on my avatar are needle felted.  I used a piece of felt cut to the shape I wanted the eyelid to be then needle felted onto the felt piece.  This was going onto a real fur piece so I could not needle felt it onto the face.  After the eyelid was how I wanted it, I stitched it onto the face.  If I had been working on a mohair critter, I would have needle felted it onto the face, but I would have used the felt base so that both eyelids would have been close to the same size. 
Donna

desertmountainbear desertmountainbear
Bloomsburg, PA