Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Intercal Trading Group - Your mohair supplier
Tedsby - Handmade teddy bears and other cute stuffed animals. Hundreds of teddy artists from all over the world and thousands of OOAK creations.

Rich1988 aRTy Bears
Burton, Staffs

Hi Everyone

So my birthday's in April and I'm looking to get my first sewing machine. The problem is, I don't know what I'm looking for!
Can anyone help? I'm looking at spending around £100-£150 and want a machine for basic bear work and a few basic bear clothes.
Any recommended models would be appreciated but beyond this can anyone help with what I'm looking for in a machine. Stitches, foot pressure, tension etc? Should i be asking any questions about to machine to check if it's suitable for my bear work?
Just to make it clear  bear_tongue  I've never used a sewing machine before in my life so the simpler any explanations the better. Also any machine will need to be easy to learn to use.

Thanks a bunch in advance.

Richard
x

rowarrior The Littlest Thistle
Glasgow

I'd go into somewhere like John Lewis and talk to the people there about what may suit you.  http://www.sewingmachinediscount.co.uk/ has some great deals online when you come to buy.  I got my Brother one from there at less than half the RRP.  I got the XR6600 when it was about £30 lower than they have it right now, but they have all sorts of weekend deals and things if you keep an eye out, and very fast delivery.  Actually that machine is very nice (especially when compared to my gran's 25 year old one I had been using!), but I'm sure you could get by with a much lower spec, I was just suckered in by the great deal  :lol:

Edited to add:  I see you've got a sewing machine shop in Burton that may be able to help Frister & Rossman, 12 St. Marys Drive, Burton on Trent,
Staffordshire DE13 0JJ.  Otherwise it's Nottingham or Leicester for sewing machine shops I'm afraid

elle Ellifolks
Eastern Ma.
Website

Hi Richard,