Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca
Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb

BatFinchBears BatFinch Bears

Hi there bear_original

I have a few questions about a few different types of unfinished bears;

1. How many times have you had a bear that for some reason or another you just can't finish it?

I think I have two lingering around and every time I think "I should finish those" it just never gets done! I can't decide what's stopping me from finishing them? coincidentally they are of the same mohair? Maybe I just don't like it? Who knows!

2. Do you ever have bears you're making that you're really pleased with and so you become increasingly 'scared' of making a big mistake and ruining the poor thing?

I think this one's a big one for me, I always get really scared of ruining bears. I'm still fairly new to this (only have around 15 bears under my belt) and well I really don't like to waste things, especially good things! It's so heartbreaking when you're doing something like trimming the muzzle area and you accidentally snip a bit too much off, because it's not like you can sellotape it back on!

3. How do you make those "big" decisions with bears that you think are going really well. eg overcome the fear of choosing "wrong" etc

I guess what I'm asking for is a little moral support so I know I'm not the only one out there who is silly! bear_happy and some advice to get around my sillyness!

Emily x

BlackmoonBear Sacred Bear Studios
Saint Petersburg, Florida

hiya! no, you're not the only one.....

1- not often, but I have been "working" on this guy for 3 years......
100_1895.jpg
the painting turned out to be far more laborious than I thought, and I still have 2 more color layers to go.....maybe someday.

2-EVERY TIME!