Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Past Time Bears - Artist bears designed and handcrafted by Sue Ann Holcomb
Shelli Makes - Teddy bears & other cheerful things by Shelli Quinn

teacuplion TeacupLion
Website

Hi all! Long-time lurker (1.5 years?), and I finally have my first bears to share :)

A family friend commissioned me to make 6 custom teddy bears with outfits for children in the family, and I accepted since I make stuffed animal patterns as a hobby-business. However, teddy bears are a whole new ball game - I studied for a year, practiced for a few months, and then only had 2.5 months (on top of a fulltime job) to make six 16" bears by a holiday deadline.

It was quite a challenge, as the customer had a specific look she wanted (semi-traditional-modern). I wanted the pattern to be made from scratch and exclusively for her, so I finished the pattern after about 34 revisions. @_@

I purchased and learned how to use an embroidery machine, as the client requested machine embroidered messages on the feet in small font on suede. (This was a great excuse to get a machine, I've been wanting one). Each bear is made from tissavel from Intercaltg, plastic joints(per customer request), glass eyes, and handsewing areas with upholstery thread for durability. Each also has a custom outfit (not my strong point) by custom request. Pretty much everything was a new experience for these bears; it really helped me get over a fear of failing at trying new things. I'm really glad to be done with these big guys! I'd like to try some 5" jointed animals some time in the future :)

First bear:
WhiteBearwithdressbyTeacupLion_zps9e753caa.jpg

Second bear:
AviatorbearbyTeacupLion_zps6e248c51.jpg

Third bear:
TennesseeVolsBaseballBearbyTeacupLion_zps3d3adfeb.jpg

Fourth bear:
ExplorerBearbyTeacuplion_zpsa1438090.jpg
IMG_0262_zps2e4475be.jpg

Fifth bear:
SittingbrownbearbyTeacupLion_zps987a5eab.jpg

Sixth bear:
WhitebearbyTeacupLion_zpsdb4d668a.jpg

Pattern turnaround: