Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Teddy Bear Academy - Online teddy bear making classes
Johnna's Mohair Store - Specializing in hand dyed mohair and alpaca

psichick78 Flying Fur Studios
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Hey guys. I have to say I love embroidering noses, but since my background is in sculpting, I figure I should try and sculpt some noses. Problem is, I can't really think of anyway to attch them.
How do you guys do it?? Is it as simple as adding your own wire in before baking? Would that be stong enough? I thought of using apoxie, but I don't have any at the moment and was hoping there was another way.
Thanks in advance for sharing your secrets,
Heather

Shelli SHELLI MAKES
Chico, California
Website

Shelli Retired Help Advisor, Banner Sponsor

There was a recent article in which it was suggested to use a glass eye, with loop already attached, for this purpose.  I just tried it for a sculpted nose I'm using on a real fur bear and it worked like a charm; simply sculpt with polyclay around the eye.  I wish I could remember who suggested it -- it might even have been our own Christine Pike -- but I'm afraid I can't verify that.  It was published in a recent issue of one of the US mags.

SueAnn Past Time Bears
Double Oak, Texas

SueAnn Help Advisor, Banner Sponsor

Yes, I believe Christine wrote the article for the August issue of Teddy Bear Review.

kbonsall Kim-Bee Bears
Pennsylvania

I take a cotter pin and make turn it to a snail (like if you were jointing a bear) and then stick it into the fimo clay ball and shape the nose and bake.... then after cooling, of course, I lacquer it and viola, a nose!

Jill West Palm Beach, FL

Kim -

Then what do you do?  Insert it like an eye or glue it on?

Jill

kbonsall Kim-Bee Bears
Pennsylvania

Both!  I use really strong upholstry thread and put a little glue underneath just before tying (you can't glue after tying, it will be too tight)

Calgary, Alberta, Canada