Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Intercal Trading Group - Your mohair supplier
Tedsby - Handmade teddy bears and other cute stuffed animals. Hundreds of teddy artists from all over the world and thousands of OOAK creations.

doodlebears Doodlebears
UK

doodlebears Celebration Ambassador

I read this on BBN and thought you should all read it as I'm sure at some time or another we have all licked an envelope.

Some inside info from someone who apparently knows....

I used to work for an envelope company. Our plant supervisor used
to work in
the Chicago plant and told us not to lick the envelopes because they
would
often find dead rats at the bottom of the glue barrel (after thousands
of
envelopes had been glued and shipped). EEWW!
------------------------------------------------------
I work in a factory and we have 2 employees who used to work in an
envelope
factory. They told me that when the machine jams up, they use
whatever water
is handy to thin out the glue. This includes water that they just
mopped the
floor with. Since then, I've avoided licking envelopes...
-------------------------------------------------------------
1.) If you lick your envelopes... You won't anymore!!! A woman was
working
in a post office in California. One day she licked the envelopes
and postage
stamps instead of using a sponge. That very day the lady cut her tongue
on
the envelope. A week later, she noticed an abnormal swelling of her
tongue.
She went to the doctor, but they found nothing wrong. Her tongue was not
sore or anything. A couple of days later, her tongue started to swell
more,
and it began to get so sore, that she could not eat.

She went back to the hospital, and demanded something be done. The
doctor
took an x-ray of her tongue and noticed a lump. He prepared her for
minor
surgery. When the doctor cut her tongue open, a live cockroach crawled
out!!!! There were roach eggs on the seal of the envelope. The egg was
able