Skip to main content

Banner Sponsors

Tedsby - Handmade teddy bears and other cute stuffed animals. Hundreds of teddy artists from all over the world and thousands of OOAK creations.
Teddy Bear Academy - Online teddy bear making classes

Pages:
Aleta - The Silly Bear The Silly Bear
Portland, Oregon
Website

After having just returned from lunch with my so called "art" friends, I am seething mad.  Now mind you, these friends (although at this minute I'm not thinking so very friendly!) know what I do for a living and have always been very supportive.  I was so excited to share the news of TOBY nominees that I "knew" that I took a couple of pictures with me to show them some of their work.  Bad idea.  The long and short of it, because I won't go into the actual conversation, is this.  Is what we do really art?  What makes it art if it looks like a toy?  If we display it only in a kids room does that make it a toy.  Does the fact that it may go in a livingroom make it art?

Am I foolish in the thought that what I do is create art?

Can you tell I had a triple latte with my lunch?

Steaming mad and thinking my friends are idiots,  bear_angry
Aleta

Sorry, don't feel like sending warmest hugs right now.  bear_sad

Shelli SHELLI MAKES
Chico, California
Website

Shelli Retired Help Advisor, Banner Sponsor

Aleta, this topic is a time bomb.  The doll world goes round and round about it as well, as I understand it.  I think it's not just a "living room vs. playroom", adult-collectible-vs.-kid-plaything issue.  It's also a "Jackson Pollack splash" vs. "Pablo Picasso abstract" vs. "Norman Rockwell realism" vs. "Monet Impressionist" issue.

Honestly, there's no winning or resolving it, I don't think.

I once participated in a discussion on this very topic which went round and round, quite rightly and honorably so, because it's a worthy question.  And the bottom line at the end of the day is that we had to agree that art was art if a person PERCEIVED it as such.